Awards and Honors

Awards and Honors

2023 Elhuyar-Goldschmidt Award (Royal Soc. of Chemistry, Spain)

2022 Dr h.c., UCT Prague (Czech Republic)

2022 Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (UK)

2022 Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science

2021 Fellow, Lincoln College, Oxford University

2021 International Friendship Award - Wuxi City

2021 Newton-Abraham Visiting Professorship at the University of Oxford

2021 ACS Award for Affordable Green Chemistry (ACS)

2020 Emil-Fischer-Medaille, German Chemical Society

2019 The Barry Cohen Prize, MedChem Section Israel Ch. Soc.

2019 Melville L. Wolfrom Award, ACS Carbohydrate Division

2018 Gusi Peace Prize, Phillipines

2018 Ernst Hellmut Vits-Prize, Univ. Münster

2017 Stifterverband Science Prize

2015 Humanity in Science Award

Meet the winners of 2015's award

2013 Elected Member Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences

2013 C. S. Hamilton Award for Organic Chemistry Univ. of Nebraska

2012 Whistler Award, International Carbohydrate Organization

2011 Hans Herloff Inhoffen-Medal, TU Braunschweig

2010 Tetrahedron Young Investigator Award Bioorganic and Medicinal Chemistry

2009 Claude S. Hudson Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry (ACS)

2008 ERC Advanced Grant 2008 Karl-Heinz Beckurts Prize

2008 “The 100 Most Important Swiss 2008” Schweizer Illustrierte

2008 UCB-Ehrlich Award for Excellence in Medicinal Chemistry

2007 Yoshimasa Hirata Gold Medal, Nagoya University

2007 “The 100 Most Important Swiss 2007” Schweizer Illustrierte

2007 Körber European Science Award

2007 Havinga Medal, Leiden University

2006 Astra Zeneca Organic Chemistry Award

2006 President of 2006, Swiss Academy of Natural Sciences

2005 European Society for Combinatorial Sciences Award

2005 Carbohydrate Research Award for Creativity in Carbohydrate Chemistry

2004 Otto-Klung Weberbank Prize for Chemistry (Freie Univ. Berlin)

2003 Horace B. Isbell Award (ACS Carbohydrate Division)

2003 Arthur C. Cope Young Scholar Award (ACS)

2002 Merck Academic Development Program Award

2002 Robert P. Goldberg Grand Prize (MIT 50K Competition)

2002 Harold E. Edgerton Faculty Achievement Award

2002 Alfred P. Sloan Research Scholar

2002 Glaxo-Smith-Kline Research Scholar Award

1999 Research Corporation “Research Innovation Award”

1999 Technology Review Top 100 Young Innovator Award

1999 Edgerly Science Partnership Fund Award

1999 Mizutani Foundation for Glycoscience Award

1998 CaP CURE Research Award

1997 Liebig Fellow

1990-1992 Fulbright Scholar

1987-1992 Bavarian Government Scholar

Named Lectures

2022 Novartis Lecture, Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

2022 Organic Syntheses Lecturer, Univ. of Toledo, Toledo, USA

2020 Barluenga Lectureship, Univ. de Oviedo, Spain

2020 Sunney Chan Lecture, Academia Sinica Taipei, Taiwan

2020 Henry Kuiivila Lecture, SUNY Albany, NY, USA

2019 H.C. Brown Lecture, Purdue Univ., West Lafayette, IN, USA

2018 Andy Derome Lectures, University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

2017 Tony Holý Lecture, Czech Academy of Sciences, Prague, CR

2016 Howard Memorial Lectures, Univ. of Sydney and NSW, Australia

2015 The Hassel Lectures, Univ. of Oslo, Oslo, Norway

2014 Novartis Lecture, Univ. of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, USA

2014 Dean's Disting. Lecture, Temple Univ., Philadelphia, PA, USA

2013 Csaba Horvath Memorial Lect., ACS-HU, Budapest, Hungary

2013 Durham Lectures, Durham University, UK

2013 Scynexis Lecturer, University North Carolina, Chapel Hill, USA

2013 C. S. Hamilton Lectureship, Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA

2012 Abbott-Lilly Lecture, Univ. of Pittsburgh, PA, USA

2011 Merck Organic Chem. Lect., Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison USA

2011 Sigma-Aldrich Lecture, Univ. of Wisconsin, Madison USA

2011 Mashelkar Endowment Lecture, Nat. Chem. Lab., Pune, India

2011 Dillon Steele Lecture, Univ of Queensland, Brisbane, Australia

2011 Organic Syntheses Lecture, Wayne State Univ., Detroit, USA

2011 Hans Herloff Inhoffen Lecture, Braunschweig, Germany

2011 BBVA Lecture, Bilbao, Spain

2009 Backer Lecture, Univ. of Groningen, Nederlands

2009 Jack Fox Presidential Lecture, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, NY

2008 Bristol-Meyers-Squibb Lecture, Univ. of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

2008 Bristol-Meyers-Squibb Lecture, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL

2008 McRae Lecture, Queens University, CA

2008 Boehringer Ingelheim Lecture, Universite de Montreal, CA

2008 Astra Zeneca Lecture, Sheffield University (UK)

2007 Yoshimasa Hirata Memorial Lecture, Nagoya University, Japan

2007 Lemieux Biotechnology Lecture, Univ. of Alberta, Edmonton, CA

2007 David Ginsburg Annual Lectureship, Technion, Israel

2005 Griess Lectures, RSC East Midlands Section, UK

2005 Amgen Lecture, Stanford University, CA, USA

2004 Lilly Lecture, Universität Braunschweig, Germany

2002 Novartis Lecture, Yale University, CT, USA

2002 Haynes-Morris Lecture, University of Tennessee, TN, USA

2001 Sigma-Xi Lecture, MIT, MA, USA

Go to Editor View